CHESHIRE BEEKEEPERS' ASSOCIATION

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on Saturday March 16th 2024 at Forest Hills Hotel, Overton Hill, Frodsham WA6 6HH at 11.30am.

1. Opening Remarks - President:

President, Pam Hatton welcomed members to the Annual General Meeting of Cheshire Beekeepers in its 125th year. Pam commented that since the split from Lancashire Beekeepers in 1899, the Association has had many ups and downs, many more ups than downs, which have been both memorable and very enjoyable. Pam commented that despite challenges such as the Asian Hornet, climate change and wars in Ukraine and Gaza, as long as there are honeybees to care for, there will be Cheshire Beekeepers to care for them. Pam then handed over to Chairperson, Pete Sutcliffe.

2. <u>Apologies for Absence</u> had been received from: Peter Carefoot, Helen Parkinson, David Roundthwaite, Malcolm Haynes.

3. Obituaries

The meeting paused for a few moments of silence to respect members who had died recently. John Hudson (South Cheshire), John Richards (Stockport), Bernie Horrigan (Mid Cheshire past member).

4. <u>Appointment of Tellers</u>

Tellers were not required.

5. <u>Minutes of the last Annual General Meeting on 25th March 2023.</u>

The 2023 AGM minutes were accepted as a true record of the proceedings, proposed Sydney Hollinshead, seconded Bob Beards, passed nem com and were duly signed by the Chairperson

5a. <u>Matters Arising</u>

There were no matters arising.

6. <u>Adoption of Reports</u>:

That the following reports, already circulated in the Year Book, should be accepted was proposed by David Fray and seconded by Isabel Large. This was agreed nem con.

The Committee Report

The Accounts and Treasurer's Report

The Education Report

The Examination Secretary's Report

The Bee Disease report

Show Report

The Branch Reports

The BBKA Annual Delegates' Meeting Report 2023

The ADM delegate, Lesley Jacques, was not present at the AGM but the Chairperson gave a brief report on the 2024 Annual Delegates Meeting. This had been an uncontentious meeting; a highlight being that Professor Stephen Martin was given Honorary Membership of the BBKA and Avis Marshall was awarded the Apiculturae Maxime Se Dedit certificate for her role as Workshops Convenor for the BBKA Spring Convention over the last decade.

7. <u>Election of President</u>

Mrs Pamela Hatton was elected as President for the coming year, proposed by Mark Phillipson, seconded Frank Kirkham and agreed nem con.

8. Election of Officers

There being only one candidate for each office, it was proposed by Sydney Hollinshead and seconded by Andrea Phillipson and agreed nem con that the Officers of the Association be elected en-bloc. Noted that Pam Hatton has retired from the role of Convention Secretary; it is planned that a small committee will organise Conventions in the future. Additionally, Graham Royle has retired from the role of Disease Officer. This role is currently vacant. Liz Brindle as taken up the previously vacant role of Social Media Manager.

Hon. General Secretary	E. Camm	Hon. Treasurer	S. K. Nuttall
Education Secretary	P. Sutcliffe	Examinations Secretary	S. Hatton
Disease Officer	vacant	Social Media Manager	Liz Brindle
County Archivist	P. Sutcliffe	Show Manager	S Johnson
Delegate to BBKA	L. Jacques	Website Manager	G. Royle
Hand Book and Newsletter Editor	S Donohoe	_	-

9. <u>Election of other members of the Committee</u>

Sydney Hollinshead, Graham Royle and Barbara Bryant were retiring by rule. Sydney Hollinshead and Graham

Royle agreed to stand again. Helen Parkinson had agreed to stand for the Committee, she had been nominated by Sarah Johnson and seconded by Andrew Clough. Acceptance was proposed by Stuart Forbes, seconded Liz Brindle and agreed nem con. There are unfilled vacancies on the committee, 2 places for 1 years to 2025 and 2 places for 3 years to 2027. The Chairperson noted that Barbara Bryant had now retired after 38 years on the Cheshire Committee.

10. <u>Election of Honorary Auditor</u>

John Sheeky was re-appointed to this office, proposed Simon Nuttall, seconded David Fray and agreed nem con.

11. Propositions

There were no Propositions to be considered.

12. Presentation of the Edgar Mobbs Shield

This award is for the highest achieving student taking BBKA exams in the previous year and was presented to Michael Dale.

13. Presentation of the Canon Evans Cup for Services to beekeeping in Cheshire.

Cheshire BKA President, Pam Hatton presented this year's award to Sarah and Nick Johnson who are integral members of Mid Cheshire Beekeepers. Sarah is the Branch Treasurer and Association Show Manager and both Sarah and Nick are active in helping new generations of beekeepers as well as many other activities of benefit to the whole Association

The meeting closed at 11.55 pm.